I have found that most of the commentary on the pregnancy of Bristol Palin, the 17 year old, unmarried daughter of Republican V.P. nominee Sarah Palin to be… well in a word… “despicable”. Not only from their political opponents but also from their supporters. Using this issue to further political advantage, from both sides, shows that there are no boundaries sacred or respected in the quest of unbridled ambition… which is no surprise really. I give much props to Barack Obama and Joe Biden for quickly and clearly stating that as far as they are concerned family, and this issue in particular, is off-limits in their political campaign.

However in saying all this, the reactions on a cultural, religious and “racial” level, does reveal a certain dynamic which I do find enlightening… (but also not surprising). I want to share this excellent article from theROOT which I believe very succinctly lays out the issue from this perspective: “For the Bible Tells Me So…”

