Tags

,


The figure is according to the South African Medical Research Council.

Another shocking statistic, compared to the other one I posted the other day about black men in London being disproportionately represented as convicted rapists in gang rapes in London.

I just finished watching the excellent Dispatches: Rape In The City documentary on Channel4. It was illuminating and well made.

The lack of respect of women’s bodies mixed with a lethal view that hyper masculinity must be enforced at all costs may be part of the blame.

I am sure many men, especially Afro Spear male members, will be horrified to think that other black men are committing these atrocious crimes.

Is it about self esteem? Is it about misogyny?

Things need to change. I hope I don’t sound like I am preaching but as a woman, the whole concept of rape terrifies me.

