Fb: just getting home from watching Disney’s “The Princess & The Frog” with my family. It is a crime if you do not take your little girls to see this movie. A great story and the introduction of a beautiful Black Princess… the SugarPlum loved it! The entire audience gave it rapturous applause at the end.
Asa: Not sure if I’m going to go see it. Here are a couple articles with a different perspective:
The Princess And The Frog Is Disney’s Queen Of Crap 
Now That Black Women Got Theirs Race Is Not Important 
Fb: asa, you can go see the movie… they won’t revoke your “Black card” for spending 90 minutes at a disney fairy tale. i have an 8 year old daughter who needed to see someone who looks like her live happily ever after… and disney more than brought that point home in the movie.
Asa: I’ll take your advice and go see the movie. I don’t have a daughter but I do have a son and I’ll take him to see it too. Then I’ll sit him down and explain to him that although he is a dark-skinned young Black man, he can get a Black princess too and live happily ever after. I will also tell him not to be ashamed of his “Black card”, which is his lovely dark black skin. Thanks for the perspective. Blessings!

I don’t usually comment on movies I haven’t seen myself. The above conversation was on Facebook between a friend and I. To be honest, I wasn’t trying to “bust his bubble” in regards to the movie. Since I haven’t seen it, but I consider this friend someone who is a critical thinker, I shared with him 2 thought-provoking articles by Brotherpeacemaker about the film. I was somewhat taken aback that he took offense to the articles and felt the need to defend Disney, as well as refer to my supposed “Black card”.

The converstaion brought home a couple of points to me. One is the issue of role models for our children. I believe in positive role models. Regardless of whether one agrees or disagrees with the idea of role models, our children will have them. They will identify with and be influenced by those who they feel represents the best of themselves. The question then becomes who and what are they conditioned to identify with… to be influenced by? From the images that I see of the Black Princess in this film, she represents a dark version of Barbie or Elin Woods. Straight hair, straight pointy nose, red lips, thin physique. Most Black girls (and women) I know don’t conform to this image, but as my friend above is quick to state and re-enforce to his daughter, she is “a beautiful Black Princess”.

Then what does it also say to our Black boys. Unless you look like a Prince Naveen with straight hair, narrow nostrils and light-coloured skin, you are not good enough to get “a beautiful Black Princess” as a mate. However you can be a black villain, a black-skinned practitioner of black magic, since you do look more like a Dr. Facilier!

Can we really blame a Sammy Sosa if these are the messages we are condoning to be sent to our young Black men? (see here)  

Second, let’s not get it twisted. Disney didn’t make this film for Black audiences. They didn’t do it because of their concern of a lack of Black role models for little Black girls. They didn’t do it out of a sense of civic duty, so as to do their part to create a better and more inclusive society. They did it to make money. They did it to benefit financially from the notion of two little Black Princesses in the White House. They did it to cater to the dominant culture, especially the liberal, left-leaning, white progressives who will pay money to take their families to see this film and buy the merchandise, i.e., a little Black Princess doll for their little White Princesses as a Christmas gift. This targeted audience can then feel good (or better) about themselves, especially during this time of year, for promoting the illusion of diversity within their household, as well as living in the delusion of the American fairy tale way of life… “and they lived happily ever after…”

…and like sheep, negroes blindly follow along…

