Tags


I had a conversation with a black acquaintance of mine recently about the lack of perceived solidarity in the workplace between black people (from what I have experienced) in the UK.

In our conversation, we noted this sort of awkward ‘silence’ between black people in the workplace.

Oh, does she expect me to chat her because she is black?
This is a place of work, I am not here for friends

I really think this hurts our chances of having successful careers. I have become really fascinated with the concept of having a successful career. Naturally, success is relative and depends on what you want. But my message for the black people at work who want to run away from their fellow brothers and sisters without even smiling, good luck with that because you make yourself more of a stereotype by doing that.

Black people worldwide need to work together in localised formats to push their careers ahead.

