On my post about the word “Black” vs the word “African-American”, my sister Anne Renee brought some down home, grits and gravy TRUTH  moments ago:

“Let me be clear: I identify myself as a black woman! I say we are all black folks! If you read me anywhere that I roam, my identity is black. The reason being is that it’s more inclusive! Some folks may identify as Jamaicans, Nigerians, South Africans, Black Brits, Brazilians, and that’s their choice! But for me, I identify as black! And for me, all those folks are black first, then whatever they claim as far as I’m concerned. Because of my not too distant history as an enslaved “African” I can use African American, I can claim it if I want to when I want to. I understand the reason for the term and respect the deeper levels the term represents. But essentially and existentially, and that’s my frame of reference, I’m a black woman! I love every damn thing about black people! We’re all from Africa! We’re all Africans! Some of us ended up in Cuba, some in Brazil, some in South America, some in North America, some in Europe and elsewhere! Whatever nationality you claim simply speaks to the specific struggle that you had and are having! But I bet racism is the overarching issue that you have wherever you are! I can’t deny the struggle that we black folks have had in North America, and therefore can’t deny our attempt to name the struggle with this “African American” appellation! The struggle was and is real! But when I’m vibing about my beautiful black soul–when I discover rap in Brazil and South Africa, when I listen to Hugh Masekela blow and Miles, and John too, When I listen to Ladysmith Black Mambazo, and Andrae Crouch, when I hear about Junkanoo and Carnivale, and listen to Nas and Goodie Mob, and Oliver deCoque, and Felix Wazekwa and Loose Ends, and Caron Wheeler, and eat some collard greens and Egusi soup and Jollof rice and Feijoada and Gumbo and Mac-n-Cheese and Sweet Potato pie and Jerk Chicken, and look at the art of Ernie Barnes and Aniekan Udofia, and read a piece by James Baldwin and Chimamanda and Chinua Achebe and Toni Morrison and Caryl Phillips, and J. California Cooper, Whew, I have to step back and say God DAMN, I am so damn black and beautiful! I’m black and the term “African American” can’t begin to describe WHO I AM! Feel me?? I know that you do! black-folks.blogspot.com”

Lawd have mercy! That’s the black I was talking about and been missing so much!!!!

