There is nothing more real than real life. I am not talking here about the staged reality of “reality tv” either. I am talking about the the real life drama that people go through, the struggles, pains, deaths and sometimes, hopefully, the eventual triumphs that makes a life.

This is why I am fascinated by autobiographies and biographies. They are inspirational. We can debate all day on the most effective strategies to employ to overcome, but those who fight to live, not just to survive, find the way to overcome. 

I read an article on the above autobiography of Tim Brannigan at Afro-Europe Blog. It’s the story of a mixed race black man who was born and grew up in Belfast, Northern Ireland. Here is an indepth article about him. This is a definite addition to my (constantly growing) reading list.

