In September of this year, I made a loan through KIVA with 166 others worldwide, to invest in the endeavours of Ruth Nankabirwa and the Victoria Women’s Group B-2 in Lugazi, Uganda. This loan was primarily used to purchase clothes for their clothing boutique. I was notified on December 15th that the loan was fully repaid (fyi… I made no profit), a month in advance! I am encouraged that their business is doing well enough to make full repayments before the end of the loan term. I feel good that my small contribution was a part of this success. This is what it means to “put your money where your mouth is”.

During this season of giving, instead of buying more stuff that we don’t really need… for people we probably don’t really like (lol), please consider investing in the efforts of our brothers and sisters who are working to provide a better life for themselves, their families and their communities. There are many worthwhile enterprises to be supported via KIVA. Here are some to consider:

1. Pena Alta En Desarrollo 1, 2, 3 Group

2. Jared Mangaa Oimeke

3. Nyiringabo Straton

