The Caine Prize for African Writing is awarded to an African writer of a short story published in English, whether in Africa or elsewhere, reflecting the contemporary development of the African story-telling tradition. The first prize was awarded in 2000 at the Zimbabwe International Book Fair 2000 in Harare and it’s usually awarded every July. This year’s winner is Nigeria’s Tope Folarin or his short story entitled “Miracle”.

The other 4 shortlisted entries for this year were:

  1. Elnathan John (Nigeria): “Bayan Layi”
  2. Pede Hollist (Sierra Leone): “Foreign Aid”
  3. Abubakar Adam Ibrahim (Nigeria): “The Whispering Trees”
  4. Chinelo Okparanta (Nigeria): “America”

It’s important that we support African (as well as Caribbean) literature. Not just financially, but we need to expose ourselves and our children to these contemporary stories. Reading moves and connects us emotionally and spiritually on a number of different levels.

Here are the entries for the previous 2 years:

The Caine Prize for African Writing 2012
The Caine Prize for African Writing 2011